Sunday, August 14, 2011

Michelle Bachmann Wins Iowa Straw Poll

Here she is celebrating.  Can't seem to get enough of those corn dogs.

The actual results, as if they mean anything:

1. Congresswoman Michele Bachmann (4823, 28.55%)

2. Congressman Ron Paul (4671, 27.65%)

3. Governor Tim Pawlenty (2293, 13.57%)

4. Senator Rick Santorum (1657, 9.81%)

5. Herman Cain (1456, 8.62%)

6. Governor Rick Perry (718, 3.62%) write-in

7. Governor Mitt Romney (567, 3.36%)

8. Speaker Newt Gingrich (385, 2.28%)

9. Governor Jon Huntsman (69, 0.41%)

10. Congressman Thad McCotter (35, 0.21%) 

The Iowa Straw Poll is a strange mix between a county fair and a political convention, where people typically listen to speeches, applaud or yell at the candidates, and eat deep fried butter on a stick. (Paramedics are standing by.) It's totally meaningless.

In 2007 Willard "Mitt" Romney won the Straw Poll, but McCain was the Republican nominee and Barack Obama won the election.
In 1999 it actually worked: Dubya won the Straw Poll and was the nominee.
In 1995, Bob Dole and Phil Gramm tied to win the Straw Poll; Dole was the Republican nominee and Bill Clinton won the election.
In 1987, crazy evangelist Pat Robertson won the Straw Poll; but George H W Bush was the Republican nominee and won the election.
in 1979, George H W Bush won the Straw Poll; but Ronald Reagan was the Republican nominee and won the election.

Have another corn dog and enjoy it while you can. 

Update: I was thinking it would be great if only we could get a pic of Marcus Bachmann eating a corn dog.  One day later The Google granted my wish!

No comments:

Post a Comment